County Chair Award

The Illinois Farm Bureau® Young Leader County Chair Award is a program designed to recognize County Young Leader/Young Farmer Chairs for outstanding participation within their county committees.


  • The county applicant must be a County Farm Bureau Member or dependent and the county chair of record with the Young Leader Department.
  • Applicants are ineligible if they reach their 36th birthday on or before January 31, 2015.
  • County chairs who serve on the IFB® Young Leader Committee are ineligible to compete or to be counted toward points.  Spouses of State Committee members may compete, but are ineligible to receive points for certain activities.
  • If a county has co-chairs, only one of them may apply.


  • Points will be awarded for the number of county participants and chair involvement in the various activities listed on the checklist.
  • The state’s actual participation records will verify participant numbers for activities.
  • Spouses of state committee members will not receive points for specific activities because they may be participating as spouses of State YL Committee members.  These activities are indicated by a *.
  • In the event that the state cancels an activity, those registered for the event at the time of cancellation will be used to receive points.


  • Applicants who earn 400 points or more will be recognized with an Outstanding County Chair Award plaque.
  • The top county chair in each of the 5 membership groups will receive a trip to the IAA Annual Meeting and a trip to the 2015 AFBF YF&R Conference in Nashville, TN (courtesy of GROWMARK, Inc.).
  • Previous winners of the Top County Chair Award are ineligible to win this recognition again, however, they may apply for the Outstanding County Chair Award.
top bottom

County Chair Listing

Click here for a complete list of County Chairs.


Click here for the County Chair application form.