Young Leader North Carolina Tour Wrap-Up



Each year a group of Illinois Farm Bureau Young Leaders travel somewhere that may have different types of farming operations and equipment, but the passion for agriculture remains the same. This year’s tour brought 22 Young Leaders from across the state of Illinois to the eastern U.S. state of North Carolina for six days to visit farms, cooperatives, agribusinesses, and have some fun!

North Carolina has diverse agriculture and farming practices. From sweet potatoes and tobacco, to oysters and beef cattle, they have it all. This tour offers our organization’s leaders the opportunity to connect with farmers across Illinois and state lines, to learn from one another, to understand the struggles that other farmers face, and to find ways to work together to overcome the challenges.

Lynn Rohrscheib of Vermilion County said, “I thoroughly enjoyed the Illinois Farm Bureau’s Young Leader AgOyster Industry Tour through North Carolina. A huge thanks to North Carolina Farm Bureau for putting together a great tour and showing us true southern hospitality. I greatly appreciated having the opportunity to spend the week with producers and ag industry young leaders across our state who I consider part of my family.”

Highlights of the trip included a tour of America’s largest home, the Biltmore House, a John Deere Turf Care production facility, and Bayer CropSciences’ Bee Care Center. The participants also spent time at Mt. Olive Pickles, the second largest distributor of pickles in the U.S., an Oyster Hatchery, and numerous North Carolina Farm Bureau members’ farms.

In the end, while growing seasons and crops are different than Illinois, all the participants on the tour brought home a wealth of information to improve various aspects of their own farms and expand their appreciation for farming in the land of the red, white, and blue.

Participants and their counties include:

Jared Finegan- Ford-Iroquois

Todd VerHeecke- Henry

Ron Snodgrass- Ogle

Lynn Rohrscheib- Vermilion

John Klemm- DeWitt

David Marshall- Kane

Kent Liefer- Randolph

Karen Liefer- Randolph

Jacob Walker- Tazewell

Dale Pitstick- Kane

Heather Pierson- Kane

Kevin Luthy- Randolph

Kari Luthy- Randolph

J.R. Hubele- White

Ryan Voorhees- Tazewell

Jessica Collins- Livingston

John Herzing- St. Clair

Matt Stolte- Montgomery

Ethan Krone- Sangamon

Doug Kirk- Vermilion

Join the Young Leaders on their next Ag Industry Tour!


top bottom


Click here to like the Young Leaders on Facebook.

Young Leaders Blog

Click here to keep up with the Young Leaders through their blog posts.